Hours of Operation
**Please note that if you choose to use any of the cards listed above, a service charge of 2.25% plus .25 cents will apply to the total charge. This service fee is administered through a third party and Rutherford County Clerk does not receive these fees.
Boat Registration Renewal
The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency will mail renewal form “Application for Boat Certificate of Number” to current boat owner to complete and return along with the boat registration fee to the following address:
Renewal form “Application for Boat Certificate of Number” may also be obtained by calling the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency at (615) 781-6522 or may be obtained in the Office of the Rutherford County Clerk in Murfreesboro, Tennessee.
Boat Registration Fees
Boat Registration Fees shown on form "Application for Boat Certificate of Number" and are made payable to Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency. Fees cannot be transferred or refunded. Do not send cash for renewal of boat registration.
Registration for Boat Purchased from Dealer
If boat &/or trailer are purchased from a Tennessee dealer, the Office of the Rutherford County Clerk does not collect the Tennessee State Sales Tax. The dealer will issue form “Application for Boat Certificate of Number” to customer upon dealer certifying payment of sales tax on the said form. If the dealer does not have the form in stock, please contact the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency at (615) 781-6522 or the form may be obtained in the Office of the Rutherford County Clerk in Murfreesboro, Tennessee. Please note that the Office of the Rutherford County Clerk does not complete the certification…only the dealer in this instance.
Registration for Boat Purchased from Individual
To register a boat bought from an individual, the applicant must present a Bill of Sale reflecting the sellers signature. The bill of sale must include the make, year, length and manufacturer's ID number (if the boat was manufactured after November 30, 1972), TN NUMBERS (If having been previously registered in Tennessee.)
Please contact the Rutherford County Clerk's office for questions regarding the registration of boats and watercraft.
Tennessee State Sales Tax will be collected by the County Clerk. Contact the office for sales tax fees.
Once the sales tax and the $7.00 certification fee has been paid to the Rutherford County Clerk, the boat owner will be required to mail form “Application for Boat Certification Number” to the following address with the appropriate registration fees as noted on the form:
Registration and License Plate for Boat Trailer
The State of Tennessee does not require boat trailers to be registered or licensed; however, other states may require boat trailer owners to do so. Because of the differences in laws from state to state, it is strongly recommended that all boat trailers be titled and registered if the boat trailer will be traveling outside the boundaries of the State of Tennessee. It is also strongly recommended that all boat trailers be titled and registered due to theft problems. A boat trailer can be traced much easier if titled and registered.
Registration for Trailer Purchased from Dealer…
|©2015 Rutherford County Office of Information Technology. All Rights Reserved
County Courthouse Suite 105 • Murfreesboro, TN 37130