Between October 15 to May 15 every year, state law requires citizens to obtain a permit.
To Obtain Burn Permits Call
"LEARN BEFORE YOU BURN! "
In the State of Tennessee and Rutherford County there are items that are ILLEGAL to burn at ANY time during the year.
Rutherford County Emergency Management encourages you to “LEARN BEFORE YOU BURN"! when it comes to burning household garbage and other items.
In the State of Tennessee and Rutherford County there are items that are ILLEGAL to burn at ANY time ! It is illegal to burn:
WHAT YOU CAN BURN:
You may burn ONLY Leaves, branches, trees, stumps, grass clippings etc.
OFFICIAL BURNING SEASON = PERMIT REQUIRED!
Between October 15 to May 15, every year state law requires citizens to obtain a permit from the Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry before conducting any open burning of wood debris. Permits are free of charge. You must call toll free 1-877-350-2876 to obtain a permit. Days outside of the official burning season do not require a permit however, state regulations must be followed.
At least 1 person shall be constantly present at the burn site the ENTIRE length of the burn.
Each burn shall not exceed 48 hours in duration.
Burning shall not occur more than twice in any 30 day period.
If burning occur within 100 feet of an occupied building it may occur ONLY if an adult occupant of that structure give written authorization for the burn to occur and has not rescinded authorization in writing.
Citizens living within the limits of a city or town are encouraged to check with their government for any local burning restrictions that might apply.
Recycling and composting are alternatives to open burning recommended by the Department of Environment and Conservation.
Household garbage that cannot be recycled should be disposed in a permitted landfill.
County convenience centers http://www.rutherfordcountytn.gov/dept/solid_waste.htm and private garbage haulers are options for property owners to appropriately dispose of household trash.
|©2013 Rutherford County Office of Information Technology. All Rights Reserved
County Courthouse Suite 104 • Murfreesboro, TN 37130
Email – firstname.lastname@example.org